DIY: Painting Table and Chairs

I bought my table years ago. It was actually my husband and I’s first big purchase together.   It was totally on trend at the time. Bar height, square table and chairs. Over the years, I have grown so tired of the look, especially the finish of the wood.  This table has fed my family for years.  Seen all three of our homes, and us bringing all our babies home. And It continues to welcome more people to it. Not wanting to get rid of this sentimental piece, I decided to give it a little make over.  I needed something that I could easily work with, and it could be a quick and easy job.  With three babies you are trapped with a in certain time frame.  Always on their schedule. After some research I found this product Annie Sloan Chalk Paint.

table 2

Its so easy to work with. No stripping paint, no sanding, no priming. All I did was wash breakfast from that morning off of it, and the dried up glitter the table has collected over the years, and started painting. For my chairs I used the color French Linen. The first coat I used “X” marks.  I also didn’t use a lot of paint.  My first layer was super thin.  It allowed my dry time to be faster.  The goal is just to get the piece covered with no drips.

table5

table3

After its dried completely.  Put the second coat on just like you did the first. Repeat this process as many times as it takes for you to get the look you want.  I only did two coats.  After the chair was the color I wanted, I took “Duck Egg Blue” and lightely outlined the edges of the chairs.  I let it dry just a little, than wiped it lightly with an old cloth rag. table8

table7

When all the paint is dry, you need to seal it.  The Annie Sloan Waxes are just as easy to work with as the paint.  I used the Clear Wax, and I highly suggest the Annie Sloan Wax Brush.  I just put a little wax on the brush, and rubbed it on the table in circular motions. Then I wiped it gently with a rag.  Let it sit and dry, and then add another coat.

Its that easy folks! The new paint has completely transformed my dining room.  Its like having a brand new table.

table final

Leave a comment